The KCCC is a creation of the Kalayaan Filipino Cultural Organization, known simply as Kalayaan, the umbrella organization of Filipino associations in Mississauga. It was established in 1983 for the sole purpose of celebrating Philippine Independence Day every year.

Kalayaan soon grew in membership and expanded its role to include other community concerns. In 1996, the executive envisioned the establishment of a community centre owned and managed by Filipino-Canadians and in 1997 when the Kalayaan constitution and by-laws were framed, a provision was included to create a foundation for the establishment of such a community centre.

When Kalayaan filed for registration the government required that a separate entity be created for the purpose of the foundation hence a separate constitution and by-laws were framed to govern the entity now called the Kalayaan Cultural Community Centre.

The centennial celebration of Philippine independence at the SkyDome in 1998 temporarily halted further efforts to start operating the KCCC. But the hiatus was actually a blessing because after the centennial celebration a surplus amount of $120,000 was unanimously approved at a community meeting in February 1999, to become seed money for a community centre.

In September 1999, the KCCC constitution and by-laws were ratified and the following month, on October 17, 1999, the first board of directors was elected with Willie Cantos, first president, at the helm. The board served for two years, followed by Carlos Padilla, president and his team in 2002 for another two years.

In 2004, Ching Quejas succeeded Carlos Padilla with six female and twelve male directors plus two appointed assistants, a female assistant secretary and a male assistant treasurer. It was during this board’s term that the building was purchased and the dream to have our own “home” was realized. This board that served from 2002 -2006 was composed of:

President – Ching Quejas
Exec. VP – Resty del Rosario
VP, Programs – Ruffy Romano
Secretary – Mary Joy de la Cruz
Treasurer – Nestor Perez
Auditor - Carlos Padilla
PRO - Charity Roda Lim
Directors – Vangie Alcasid
Mayette Balbastro
Madoline Baluca
Pete Carin
Robert Chua
Alfredo Crisostomo
Arturo De Vera
Dr. Solon Guzman
Delfin Palileo
Frank Pendon
Dr. William Rodriguez
Assistant Secretary – Carmen Sunga
Assistant Treasurer – Ponce Padua